Show Follow Ups with Decision Status

Written by Lauren Neulinger

Last published at: August 4th, 2021

Show Follow Ups with Decision Status

By default, when you assign a follow up form to an applicant it's immediately visible on their dashboard. 


You have the option to turn on the Show Follow Ups with Decision Status setting. When turned on, the system will only show an applicant their assigned follow ups once the decision status ("Approved") is visible for their request. The timing of the decision status and assigned follow ups becoming visible is controlled by the Show Decision Status setting.

If you set a delay with Show Decision Status for the purpose of communicating with applicants before they can log in and see that their request is approved, this additional feature prevents a situation where they might log in and see assigned follow ups before you've communicated with them.

Example Scenario

Let's say you've set a delay of 30 days for the Show Decision Status setting, and you've turned on the Show Follow Ups with Decision Status setting. You just finished approving requests in your site and assigned follow ups for each approved request.

If an applicant logs in before 30 days has passed, their dashboard will show a status of "Undecided" for their request and they will not see their assigned follow ups. 

Warning

If you assign a follow up that has an automatic email configured to send when the form is assigned, the automatic email will still send even if the Show Follow Ups with Decision status setting is turned on. Consider turning off the automatic email for the follow up form if you prefer to manually send award communications to applicants at a specific time. 

Configure this Feature

By default, the Show Follow Ups with Decision Status setting is off (meaning assigned follow ups are visible immediately upon assignment). Follow these steps to turn this setting on: 

  1. Click the Gear Icon
  2. Click the Pencil Icon next to the Show Follow Ups with Decision Status setting. 
  3. Select True, then click OK.