Cancel an Installment

Written by Lauren Neulinger

Last published at: March 24th, 2020

Canceling an installment indicates that it is no longer a planned amount to pay, and removes the canceled amount from the Balance for the request. It does not affect the Amount Awarded (Installment Total)

This is the appropriate action if you want to keep the original Amount Awarded, while indicating that the award (or part of the award) will no longer be paid.

If you utilize the integration with CommunitySuite, installments should only be canceled or reinstated within CommunitySuite (not within GLM/SLM). More details are available here: Canceled Installments with CommunitySuite Integration 

An installment with payments recorded cannot be canceled as is. Refer to this article for assistance in that situation: Cancel Part of an Installment/Installment with Payments

Cancel an Installment

Follow these steps to cancel an installment. 

  1. Click on the project name to reach the Request Summary. 
    • The project name can be accessed from multiple locations, including a workload page (i.e. All Open Approvals), the User or Organization Summary page, or the Requests & Decisions search page. 
  2. Click the Award Details tab. 
  3. Click the installment that you want to cancel to open the details. 
  4. Click Yes on the Cancel Installment toggle switch. 
  5. Now the Canceled Total and Balance correctly reflect the scenario, and the Installment Total (Amount Awarded) is unaffected.