How do I merge duplicate contacts?

Even though your site will not allow an individual to create a duplicate contact record that uses an email address that is already in the system, duplicate contacts can occur for a number of reasons.

The easiest way of dealing with duplicate contact records is to deactivate any duplicates, leaving a single record for each individual. But before doing this, you need to assign all of the requests associated with any of the duplicate contacts to a single contact that you will not deactivate.

The following steps should allow you to combine any duplicate contact records.

  1. Merge duplicate organizations where possible. This should consolidate your duplicate contacts into a single organization. You can see a video for merging duplicate organizations here:
  2. Move all of the requests that are associated with a duplicate contact record to a single contact that you will keep. You can find a set of steps for reassigning a request from one contact to another here:
  3. Once you have assigned all of the requests to a
    single contact, deactivate the duplicates of that contact. This can be
    done clicking the red circle next to their name as it is listed on the Users
    page or pressing the "Deactivate User" button at the bottom of their contact
Note that there may be times when you do not want to merge duplicate organizations. For instance, you may want to have multiple organization records for a university or a large social service agency that has different departments applying to your organization. In this case, you still need to move the duplicate contact records into a single organization. You can do this by editing the user's contact record and selecting a different organization from the pull down list at the top of their contact record.

Was this article helpful?