Keeping Your GLM Site Clean: The Checklist

When you log in to your Foundant GLM site do you feel that your Dashboard looks more cluttered with requests than it should be?  Does your list of active organizations, or list of active processes seem too long and need to be trimmed down?  Do you have applicants who have created duplicate organization accounts?  Well, it sounds like you’re ready to start cleaning up your site.  We’ve put together a checklist of items in order for you to ensure you don’t miss anything along the way.

Process Manager

In order to keep your active Process Manager tab organized you should archive processes once the application deadline date has passed OR when the full grant cycle has ended (all payments logged and all follow-ups submitted), whichever event makes more sense to you. This way only your current grant cycles are visible in your “Available” process list.

Please note that forms attached in the process stages will automatically be archived along with the process when it is archived.  And remember, toggling a process to “Off” will only remove the process from the applicant-facing “Apply” page, it will not archive the process. 

TIP:  Archived processes can always be restored to the “Available” list if you need to.

Organizations

Duplicate accounts

Over time, you are likely to find duplicate records for the same organization in your site.  To search for existing duplication organizations, go to the “Search” option on your top navigation bar and select “Organizations”, then click on the “Duplicate Search” button. Select the duplicate organization(s) that should be merged and then “Merge Selected Organizations” at the bottom of the page. The system will prompt you to merge duplicates into a "primary" organization.

There may be duplicate organizations in your site that are using the same “umbrella” tax id, such as university departments, medical or hospital divisions or organizations with multiples locations which you do not want to merge.  You will need to decide.   Foundant GLM has several ways of helping you prevent duplicate accounts from happening and/or managing it when it does. Please contact your Client Success Manager ( CSM) to discuss what will work best for your organization when it comes to duplicate account management.

Archiving/Deleting organizations

If you have organizations in your site which are no longer active or no longer exist, you may delete or archive them depending on if there is data associated with the organization.  You may select and archive an organization which has requests associated with it or charity check(s) run.  You may completely delete an organization with no grant history or no charity checks present on the organization summary page.

Deactivating Users

When a contact is no longer associated with an organization that has requested funding from you or a user has been created in error, you should deactivate the user to make the user inactive. *Users cannot be deleted, only deactivated.

Please Note:

  • You cannot deactivate a user if they are the only contact listed in the organization summary.
    • Another user must be added to the organization before the desired user can be deactivated.
  • You cannot deactivate a user who is selected as the organization’s Primary Contact.
    • Another user in the organization must be selected as the new primary contact before the user can be deactivated.
  • You can deactivate a user that has an LOI, Application, or Followup assigned to them.
    • However, you should reassign the form to another active user in the organization.

***Do not overwrite a previous user’s account with the new user’s information. It will put the new user’s name on all the requests and follow ups submitted by the previous user. This will affect your historic data’s integrity.***

You must also make sure to deactivate internal user roles: Administrators, evaluators, grants managers, & auditors that no longer work or volunteer at YOUR foundation. Otherwise they will be able to continue accessing your Foundant GLM site.

TIP: When deactivating a user, edit their profile by clicking the pencil icon and enter their departure date and departure reason in the Business Title field. This way you have quick access to, and a record of, their departure information.

Dashboard

Abandoning pending drafts

Should you have requests sitting in the LOI Draft bucket or the Application Draft buckets on your Dahboard you will want to ensure, after the form deadline has ended or grant cycle is over, that you either Abandon or Deny these requests in order to keep your Dashboard clean.  Abandoning requests is for those applicants who did not submit on time for the deadline or for those applicants who would like to withdraw their request, for whatever reason.  Denying a request is a true decision indicating that the applicant did not meet eligibility requirements or are not a good fit for the funding opportunity.

Closing Grants

After all submitted follow ups have been marked complete and all payments have been entered for a request, and no more work needs to be done in the system for the grant by the Foundation or the grantee, it is a best practice to “Close” the request.  

  • When you close a request it is removed from your dashboard, but it is still accessible in the Organization’s Summary page in the Grant History tab.
    • You can also utilize the Request & Decision search tool to quickly find and access closed requests.  

You may also report on the data via the Reports and Data Sources tool

Note that you may have grants in your “Approved” bucket on your Dashboard that will never have follow-ups forms assigned to them.  These grants need to be “Closed” once they are totally done, as well.

Shared Documents, Email Templates, Merge Templates, Reports and Data Sets

In all of these sections of your site, you will want to keep these lists clean by deleting the documents, templates, reports or data sets that you are no longer using and will not use in the future.  Be advised that deleting any of these items will erase them permanently and they will not be retrievable.

If you would like to archive an Email Template in order to remove it from your master list of templates you may do so.  Keep in mind that archiving an email template will allow you to keep it for use at a later time.  Shared Documents, Merge Templates and Reports/Data Sets do not have the archive feature, however, these documents may be saved to your computer files outside of GLM in order to keep a record of them.

Was this article helpful?